Hawks win Dartmouth Relays


The Bishop Hendricken indoor track team traveled to the Leverone Fieldhouse on the campus of Dartmouth College in New Hampshire over the weekend to compete in the 49th Annual Dartmouth Relays. The Hawks put together an all-around strong performance to capture the team title (74 points) at the event for the first time since 2010.

The Hawks got off to a good start on Friday, with their distance medley relay team of Matt St. Jean, Kevin Gower, Dylan Manning and Nick Braz earning first place, while the sprint medley squad of Russell White, Ethan Pezzullo, Bailey Whittaker and Harry Antone secured a second-place finish.

On Saturday, Hendricken continued to compile points behind some standout performances.

Kahlin Watkins placed second in the long jump with a leap of 21 feet, six inches, Antone crossed fifth in the 600, St. Jean also earned a second-place finish in the 1000-meter race and Sean Meehan and Jack McMahon finished third and fourth, respectively, in the two-mile race.

However, Hendricken was able to lock down the team title with its relay showings, earning 28 points over the three races.

The 4x200 team of Pezzullo, White, Brandon Arpin and Alex Feola got things started with a first-place run to compile 10 points. That was followed by the 4x400 team of Whittaker, Gower, Antone and Duwaun Edwards, which posted its best time of the season while crossing in second place. Hendricken then closed with its 4x800 team winning gold. The squad of St. Jean, Manning, David DelBonis and Abe Wilkins finished in a time of 8:17.29 to outpace the competition.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment